Click Here To Help Support The Briggers When Shopping Online.

News from our AGM

On Monday 21 June we held our Annual General Meeting at The Pinto Property Stadium. For those unable to attend below is a summary of the meeting.

Chairman’s Annual Statement and Report

Welcome to our official AGM. Thanks to everyone for taking time to join us as we reflect on the last 12 months and start to plan for the future.

We elected our committee just over a year ago and since this time there have been some changes in our structure. Wayne Halford and Mark Shakespeare stood down from their roles early in the season and Ian Shirt resigned his position after being offered a position as Director of Football at Houghton Main FC. Ray Pinder has also now left the board due to work commitments and I want to place on record my thanks for all the above for their support and help during their time with the club and the door will always be open for them at Worsbrough Bridge AFC.

The season has again been impacted by Covid-19, with our 1st team, U21’s and U19’s seasons prematurely curtailed. Our Ladies and Junior teams recommenced in some form with our U15’s reaching the Semi Final of their Cup Competition and our Ladies were narrowly defeated in the Quarter Final of the SHWGL Shield. Only our U18’s completed their league campaign and finished a creditable 4th in The Bud Evans Meadowhall League.

Our team structure remains in place and we will be joined by an additional U18’s team for the 2021/22 season. We have not lost any teams but the focus of the board will be to look to try and gain some younger age groups during the next 12 months.

Despite the challenges of the global pandemic we are financially in a healthy position and carry no debts, we have also been able to invest in the right areas with significant money spent on pitch maintenance. Our sponsorship remains positive and we want to thank all our sponsors, who through tough times continue to support the club.

Treasurer Annual Statement of Accounts

Available at request to all club members.

Election of Committee Members

Following the AGM the following members were elected to represent the best interests of Worsbrough Bridge AFC:

Mark Booth – Chairman / Club Secretary

Ralph Oldham – Treasurer

Jason Watkin – Safeguarding & Equality Officer

Junior Secretary – Jonathan Child

Membership & Media – Stuart Grimshaw

Media – Russell Bishop

Covid Officer – Derren Trevy

Leave a Reply